Dating english registry marks
This was a system which came into being in 1842 and started to decline in the early 1930s.
It enabled manufacturers, retailers or designers to register their designs, so that they could not be copied.
During this period Belleek also used impressed mark, with the words "BELLEEK, CO.
FERMANAGH" or "BELLEEK", or a small impressed mark of a harp or harp and crown.
This means that UK Assay Offices can apply the common control mark which will then be recognised by all member countries in the convention.
Two systems operatedthe abbreviation Rd appeared at the center. This system ran until 1883, when it was replaced by a series of sequential numbers preceded by Rd, which can be banded into years for dating purposes. For most years there are overlaps in the sequences of numbers.
Details of the registered designs were included in the official journal of Patents, of which there were one or more volumes per year.
This is the unique mark of the company or person responsible for sending the article for hallmarking.
The sponsor may be the manufacturer, importer, wholesaler, retailer or an individual.The latter are more usually found on Earthenware pieces. The Second mark used from 1891- 1926 reflects the addition of a ribbon surrounding the lower half of the design for the first mark on which appears the words "CO FERMANAGH IRELAND" The change in the trademark occurred in 1891 in compliance with the 1891 Mc Kinley Tariff Act and the 1887 British Merchandise Act as amended in 1891,requiring the country of origin to be specified on the article. Wherever impressed marks were used, particularly with figurines the word "IRELAND" is added.